Top of page

Engaging a Community of Scholars: Announcing the John W. Kluge Center’s Alumni Advisory Group

Share this post:

The John W. Kluge Center is pleased to announce its new alumni advisory group. With over 1,000 scholars in residence since 2001, Kluge Center chairs, visiting scholars, and fellows create a distinguished community of engaged expertise across many academic and practitioner fields. Together, Kluge Center alumni represent the intellectual breadth of critical inquiry and understanding that residential scholarly access to Library collections make possible.

Invited members of the alumni advisory group will serve two-year terms as Kluge Center ambassadors, helping the Center better promote its scholarly opportunities to wider audiences. Integrating alumni voices and their enthusiasm for conducting research at the Library of Congress more fully into Center programming is an exciting development.  We look forward to beginning this new effort together in December.

Members of the first alumni advisory group, their institutional affiliations, and projects conducted while in residence include:

Joanne Braxton, Frances L. and Edwin L. Cummings Emeritus Research Professor, William & Mary, President & CEO, Braxton Institute for Sustainability, Resiliency and Joy

2015 David B. Larson Fellow in Health and Spirituality: Religion, Spirituality and Health in the African American Experience

Luis Campos, Regents Lecturer in Arts and Sciences, Associate Professor of History, University of New Mexico

2016 NASA Chair in Astrobiology: Life As It Could Be: Astrobiology, Synthetic Biology, and the Future of Life

Maya Jasanoff, X.D. and Nancy Yang Professor, Coolidge Professor of History, Harvard University

2019 Kluge Chair in Countries and Cultures of the North, 2006 Kluge Fellow: Ancestry: Where Do We Come From and Why Do We Care?

Henry Jenkins, Provost Professor of Communication, Journalism, Cinematic Arts and Education, University of Southern California

2018 Kluge Chair in Modern Culture: American Children’s Media

Aynne Kokas, Associate Professor of Media Studies, University of Virginia

2019 Kluge Fellow: Border Patrol on the Digital Frontier: China, the United States, and the Global Battle for Data Security

Charlie Laderman, Lecturer in International History, Kings College

2017 Visiting Fellow, 2015 British Research Council Fellow: The World at War: Cartoon and Conflict, 1914-1918

Andrea Matwyshyn, Associate Dean of Innovation and Technology, Professor of Law and Engineering Policy, The Pennsylvania State University

2019 Digital Studies Fellow: Owning Our Votes

Samira Mehta, Assistant Professor of Women and Gender Studies and Jewish Studies, University of Colorado

2014 David B. Larson Fellow in Health and Spirituality: God Bless the Pill? Contraception, Sexuality, and American Religion

Neeti Nair, Associate Professor of History, University of Virginia

2016 American Council of Learned Societies Frederick Burkhardt Fellow: The Blasphemy Laws: A South Asian History

Melvin Rogers, Associate Professor of Political Science, Brown University

2019 Distinguished Visiting Scholar: The Darkened Light of Faith: Race, Democracy, and Freedom in African American Political Thought

Joe Ryan-Hume, Assistant Clerk, Scottish Parliament

2013 British Research Council Fellow: Standing in Reagan’s Shadow: Liberal Strategies in a Conservative Age

Rachel Shelden, Associate Professor of History, The Pennsylvania State University

2014 Kluge Fellow: Judicial Ethics and the U.S. Supreme Court in the Civil War Era

Constanze Stelzenmüller, Fritz Stern Chair and Senior Fellow at the Center for the United States and Europe, The Brookings Institution

2019 Henry A. Kissinger Chair in Foreign Policy and International Relations: The Dilemma of German Power


To learn more about the Library Chairs and Kluge Fellowships listed above, please visit our website.  For more information about Kluge Center alumni engagement, contact Janna Deitz at [email protected] and see our new page specifically for Kluge alumni.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *