{ subscribe_url: '/share/sites/library-of-congress-blogs/law.php' }

When Were Marriages Between Cousins Banned in China?

In my previous blog post, How Degrees of Kinship Are Calculated Under Chinese Law?, it was mentioned that cousin marriage is banned by the People’s Republic of China (PRC) Marriage Law. In fact, the ban has not been there for very long: it officially appeared in the Law when it was revised in 1980.

Marriage between first cousins was generally allowed during most of China’s dynastic era. However, there were exceptions. The primary exception were marriages between patrilateral parallel cousins — the children of two male siblings. Such marriages were strictly prohibited. They were seen as those between siblings because they bore the same family name. But marring the child of one’s paternal aunt, maternal uncle or aunt was generally accepted in Chinese history. (Zhaoxiong Qin, Rethinking Cousin Marrige in Rural China, 40(4) ETHNOLOGY 347 (autumn 2001).

Cover of QING, SUN WEN HUI QUAN BEN HONG LOU MENG, collected by the Library of Congress. Photo by author.

Written in the 18th century during the Qing Dynaty, my favorite Chinese classical novel is Hong Lou Meng (Dream of the Red Chamber, also translated The Story of the Stone). The story is centered on Jia Baoyu, the male heir of a wealthy noble family, and his two female cousins: Lin Daiyu, daughter of his paternal aunt whom he loved most but who died at a young age; and Xue Baochai, daughter of his maternal aunt whom he eventually married. Apparently, at that time marrying the child of your aunt or maternal uncle was not a problem at all and sometimes even preferable, because the marriage would further strengthen the tie between the two families.

The first PRC Marriage Law was adopted in 1950, one year after the establishment of the PRC. It allowed for people to “follow customs” with regard to marriage between relatives within five degrees of kinship.  (PRC Marriage Law (promulgated May 1, 1950), 1949–1950 ZHONGYANG RENMIN ZHENGFU FALING HUIBIAN [1949–1950 LAWS AND DECREES OF THE CENTRAL PEOPLE’S GOVERNMENT] 32–36).

When the 1980 PRC Marriage Law entered into effect on January 1, 1981, it banned all marriages between first cousins (art. 6(1)). The purpose of the ban was to avoid birth defects that stem from consanguineous marriages  — in this case, children born of first cousins. The one-child policy, which was introduced right before the passage of the 1980 PRC Marriage Law, might have also played a role. When the draft legislation was introduced to the National People’s Congress, it was explained that because of the implementation of the one-child policy, “there would be fewer children,” and therefore more attention should be paid to “the quality of the population.” Thus, marriages between close relatives were banned.

Daiyu weeping over fallen blossom (QING, SUN WEN HUI QUAN BEN HONG LOU MENG 78). Photo by author.

The original ban on marriages between cousins maintained in the current Marriage Law as revised in 2001 (art. 7(1)). It remains in effect so that first cousins — as third degree relatives under the PRC Marriage Law — are still prohibited from marrying each other in China.

To identify sources of Chinese law in our collections, please visit the Library of Congress online catalog or submit questions through Ask the Librarian.

2017 AALL Annual Meeting: Our Presentation on Enhancements in Government Legislative Websites

Tariq, Andrew and I, along with other Law Library colleagues, recently participated in the 110th American Association of Law Librarians (AALL) Annual Meeting and Conference.  If you haven not done so yet, check out Andrew’s post on the experiences of our colleagues at the conference. In addition to attending many of the wonderful programs offered, the […]

Middlemarch and the Rocky Road to the Reform Act of 1832

I spent my summer vacation at Dickens Universe on the University of California Santa Cruz campus. In anticipation of the bicentenary of George Eliot’s birth, this year’s book was Middlemarch, rather than the usual novel by Dickens.  I had promised the blog team that I would write a post on Middlemarch after attending this literary fest. […]

Religious Matrimonial Laws in Selected Middle East and African Countries

I previously blogged about Jewish religious law that governs marriages and divorces of Jews in Israel. I also blogged about Jewish divorces in other countries. This time I asked my colleagues in the Global Legal Research Directorate for examples of countries that recognize the application of religious matrimonial laws. In this blog post I will highlight whether and the […]

Naming Laws in Germany

In April 2017, the Association for the German Language (Gesellschaft für deutsche Sprache (GfdS)) published its annual list of the most popular baby names of the last year. The GfdS has been publishing this list since 1977. Since 2004, it has been included in the Statistical Yearbook of Germany by the German Statistical Office (Destatis), thereby […]

The Queen’s Speech 2017

This is a guest post by Conleth Burns, foreign law intern, who wrote a another post earlier this summer, UK Supreme Court rules “Deport first, appeal later” power is unlawful. On June 21st 2017, HM Queen Elizabeth II formally opened the UK’s Parliament by delivering her 64th Queen’s Speech. Despite being called the “Queen’s Speech,” this […]

Regulating the Rag and Bone Man

This is a guest post by Clare Feikert, foreign law specialist for the United Kingdom at the Law Library of Congress. “Instinctively he and we knew then that what we had not use for was nonetheless of worth”, Environment Committee, Second report, Recycling, 1993-94, HC 63-i, at 14. The “rag and bone man,” also known […]

FALQs: Name Day Celebrations in Sweden

The following is a guest post by Elin Hofverberg, a foreign law research consultant covering Scandinavian jurisdictions at the Law Library of Congress. Elin is a frequent contributor to In Custodia Legis on diverse topics, including The Masquerade King and the Regulation of Dancing in Sweden, The Trade Embargo Behind the Swedish Jokkmokk Sami Market, 250 Years of Press […]