Top of page

Ink-Stained Riches

Share this post:

This year’s casting call for the Library of Congress National Book Festival is complete, and our lineup for the free event Sept. 21 and 22 will include writers Don DeLillo, Joyce Carol Oates and Khaled Hosseini, graphic novelists Lynda Barry, Fred Chao, Jonathan Hennessey, Gilbert Hernandez and Jaime Hernandez, and authors Linda Ronstadt, Christopher Buckley, Stuart Eizenstat, Hoda Kotb, Thomas Keneally, Giada De Laurentiis, and author/photographer William Wegman.

The two-day event, between 9th and 14th streets on the National Mall (from 10 a.m. – 5:30 pm. Saturday and noon to 5:30 p.m. on Sunday, rain or shine) will also offer you an opportunity to nominate “Books That Shaped the World,” which you can also do online at the Festival website.

Check out the site for the authors’ speaking and signing schedules and download the poster by Festival artist Suzy Lee, who will be there to speak and sign posters on Sunday.

Other poets and authors slated to appear at the festival include Katherine Applegate, Marie Arana, Rick Atkinson, Margaret Atwood, Paolo Bacigalupi, Nicholson Baker, Bonnie Benwick, A. Scott Berg, Holly Black, Taylor Branch, Monica Brown, Fred Bowen, Jeff Chu, Susan Cooper, Alfred Corchado, Justin Cronin, Matt de la Pena, Daniel DeSimone, Kathryn Erskine, Richard Paul Evans, David Finkel, Brian Floca, Amity Gaige, Eric Gansworth, Cristina Garcia, Albert Goldbarth, Alyson Hagy, Mark Helprin, Kevin Henkes, Juan Felipe Herrera, John Hessler, Jennifer and Matthew Holm,  Kay Bailey Hutchison, Sheila Miyoshi Jager, Oliver Jeffers, Pati Jinich, Adam Johnson, William P. Jones, Cynthia Kadohata, Jamaica Kincaid, Matthew J. Kirby, Jon Klassen, Kirby Larson, Grace Lin, Mario Livio, Rafael López, Kenneth W. Mack, William Martin, Ayana Mathis, D.T. Max, James McBride, D.J. MacHale, Heather McHugh, Lisa McMann, Terry McMillan, Brad Meltzer, Wesley Granberg-Michaelson, Elizabeth Moon, Christopher Myers, David Nasaw, Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, Kadir Nelson, Patrick Ness, Katherine Paterson, Richard Peck, Benjamin Percy, Tamora Pierce, Daniel Pink, Andrea and Brian Pinkney, Matthew Quick, Lesa Cline-Ransome and James Ransome, Vaddey Ratner, Veronica Roth, Christel Schmidt, Jon Scieszka, Chad “Corntassel” Smith, Andrew Solomon, Sonya Sones, Walter Stahr, Manil Suri, James L. Swanson, Mark Teague, Evan Thomas, U.S. Poet Laureate Natasha Trethewey, Steve Vogel, Rick Yancey, Dean Young, Charles Whelan and Henry Wiencek.

The 2013 Library of Congress National Book Festival will give you a chance to meet and hear firsthand from your favorite poets and authors, purchase books and get them signed, have photos taken with PBS storybook characters and participate in a variety of activities. More than 200,000 people were estimated to have attended the festival in 2012.

Comments (2)

  1. Podremos seguir este evento desde internet?

    • Yes, the Library videotapes the author presentations and puts them up on its webcasts website following the Festival.
      You can access that through the Book Festival site, by clicking on the “webcasts” link.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *