Top of page

Pic of the Week: Two Poets Honored with Bobbitt Prize

Share this post:

Nathaniel Mackey
Claudia Rankine








Poets Nathaniel Mackey and Claudia Rankine accepted 2016 Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prizes for Poetry at an evening event at the Library of Congress on April 20. The Bobbitt Prize recognizes the lifetime achievement of an American poet or a distinguished book of poetry written by an American and published during the preceding two years. This year, prizes were awarded in both categories.

Mackey, the author of six poetry collections, most recently “Blue Fasa,” received a lifetime achievement award. Rankine received the 2016 prize for “Citizen: An American Lyric,” selected as the most distinguished book of poetry published in 2014 and 2015. Both poets read from their works.

View past winners of the Bobbitt Prize on the Library’s website.

Photos by Shawn Miller.

Add a Comment

This blog is governed by the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you post. The content of all comments is released into the public domain unless clearly stated otherwise. The Library of Congress does not control the content posted. Nevertheless, the Library of Congress may monitor any user-generated content as it chooses and reserves the right to remove content for any reason whatever, without consent. Gratuitous links to sites are viewed as spam and may result in removed comments. We further reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to remove a user's privilege to post content on the Library site. Read our Comment and Posting Policy.

Required fields are indicated with an * asterisk.