Top of page

This Week: Bezuidenhout, Founder’s Day & My Fair Lady

Share this post:

2016Header (2)

Kristian Bezuidenhout by Marco Borggreve

Wednesday, October 26, 2016 – 8:00 pm [Concert]
Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano
Coolidge Auditorium, Thomas Jefferson Building

Fortepiano phenomenon Kristian Bezuidenhout brings this unique instrument to life in a rare treat for Coolidge audiences. Known for his thoughtful and energetic performances of concerti, Lieder, chamber music and solo repertoire, Bezuidenhout trains his eye on some of the riches of the mid-1790s for his appearance at the Library.

BEETHOVEN Two Rondos, op. 51
HAYDN Variations in F minor, HXVII: 6
BEETHOVEN Sonata no. 8 in C minor, op. 13 (“Pathéthique”)

Free, tickets required.
If advance tickets are no longer available via Eventbrite, RUSH passes will be distributed at the door beginning at 6:00 pm.

Program booklet

Pre-concert conversation with the artist (6:30 pm – Whittall Pavilion)
Free, no tickets required


Courtesy of Dominic McHugh
Courtesy of Dominic McHugh

Thursday, October 27, 2016 – 7:00 pm [Lecture]
American Musicological Society Lecture
“In the Workshop of Lerner and Loewe:
Archival Sources for the Genesis of My Fair Lady

Dominic McHugh, PhD, University of Sheffield
Montpelier Room, 6th Floor, James Madison Memorial Building

Dominic McHugh uses resources from the Frederick Loewe, Alan Jay Lerner and Warner-Chappell collections to explore the creation of My Fair Lady, a work whose fame and ongoing cultural presence have hidden some of the aspects that make it unique.

Free, tickets required.
Presented in association with the American Musicological Society

Watch previous AMS lectures here


Courtesy of Argento Chamber Ensemble

Saturday, October 29, 2016 – 8:00 pm [Concert]
Founder’s Day
Argento Chamber Ensemble
Coolidge Auditorium, Thomas Jefferson Building

Join the Argento Chamber Ensemble as they perform a classic work by Sciarrino alongside a brand new piece by Irish composer Ann Cleare. Much of the first half of the program is an homage to the sound worlds of the clarinet and its brethren, including the contrabass clarinet. To close we will be treated to a newly expanded transcription of the first two movements of Mahler’s tenth symphony.

CLEARE eyam ii (taking apart your universe)
GALANTE Megalomania
SCIARRINO Introduzione all’Oscuro
MAHLER/GALANTE Symphony no. 10

Free, tickets required.
Advance tickets are no longer available. RUSH passes will be distributed at the door beginning at 6:00 pm.

Program booklet

Pre-concert conversation with the artists (6:30 pm – Whittall Pavilion)
Free, no tickets required

Add a Comment

This blog is governed by the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you post. The content of all comments is released into the public domain unless clearly stated otherwise. The Library of Congress does not control the content posted. Nevertheless, the Library of Congress may monitor any user-generated content as it chooses and reserves the right to remove content for any reason whatever, without consent. Gratuitous links to sites are viewed as spam and may result in removed comments. We further reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to remove a user's privilege to post content on the Library site. Read our Comment and Posting Policy.

Required fields are indicated with an * asterisk.