Top of page


Share this post:

This morning, the Library of Congress announced the newest 25 additions to its National Recorded Sound Registry.  Marking its 17th year this year, the National Recording Registry which honors all types of recorded sound–from music to spoken word to radio broadcasts—as long as the recordings have been historically, culturally or aesthetically significant. The latest 25 takes the total number of recordings on the Registry to 525.

Selections are made by the Librarian of Congress with input from the Library’s National Recorded Sound Preservation Board and after reviewing nominations from the public.

This year’s selections include works by Jay-Z, Cyndi Lauper, Lefty Frizzell, Nina Simone, Neil Diamond, Stan Freberg, Cab Calloway and others and range in dates from 1901 to 2001.

For a complete list of this year’s additions and more information about the Registry and recorded sound at the Library of Congress, see the link below.

National Recording Registry



Add a Comment

This blog is governed by the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you post. The content of all comments is released into the public domain unless clearly stated otherwise. The Library of Congress does not control the content posted. Nevertheless, the Library of Congress may monitor any user-generated content as it chooses and reserves the right to remove content for any reason whatever, without consent. Gratuitous links to sites are viewed as spam and may result in removed comments. We further reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to remove a user's privilege to post content on the Library site. Read our Comment and Posting Policy.

Required fields are indicated with an * asterisk.