Top of page

Man reading newspaper
Young Man Reading Newspaper. Angelo Rizzuto, 1956

The Library’s Literacy Awards Program Adds Two New Award Categories for 2024

Share this post:

This post is by Judy Lee of the Library of Congress.

The Library of Congress is proud to announce the Kislak Family Foundation’s generous gift to expand the scope of the Library’s Literacy Awards Program in 2024.

The program establishes a new annual Kislak Family Foundation Prize in the amount of $100,000 to recognize an organization in the United States or abroad with an outsized impact on literacy relative to its size or years of operation.Literacy Awards Logo

Additionally, the gift will allow the Library to double the award amount for the Successful Practices Honoree Prize. Beginning in 2024, each Successful Practices Honoree recipient will receive $10,000, a $5,000 increase from previous years. Up to 15 organizations may be selected.

The Kislak Family Foundation’s gift also establishes the Emerging Strategies Honorees Prize which will recognize up to 5 literacy initiatives that are in their early stages of development that demonstrate significant creativity and promise in their approach to promoting literacy. Each Emerging Strategies Honorees recipient will receive $5,000.

Finally, the gift allows the Literacy Awards Program to hold three regional conferences focusing on successful practices which will foster a sense of community, celebration, and information-sharing across past and present Literacy Awards winners and honorees.

More information about how to apply for the new award categories will become available here on or around January 8, 2024.

The Library of Congress is grateful to the Kislak Family Foundation for making this initiative possible.

About the Awards

The Library of Congress Literacy Awards Program honors nonprofit organizations that have made outstanding contributions to increasing literacy in the United States or abroad. The awards also encourage the continuing development of successful methods for promoting literacy and the wide dissemination of the most effective practices. They are intended to draw public attention to the importance of literacy, and the need to promote literacy and encourage reading.

Since 2013, the Library of Congress Literacy Awards Program has awarded more than $3 million in prizes to over 180 institutions in 39 countries, thanks to the generosity of philanthropist and Madison Council Chairman David M. Rubenstein. Administered by the Library’s Professional Learning and Outreach Initiatives Office in the Center for Learning, Literacy & Engagement, the awards seek to enable any not-for-profit organization or program to strengthen its involvement in literacy and reading promotion and to encourage collaboration with like-minded organizations.

Do you enjoy these posts? Subscribe! You’ll receive free teaching ideas and primary sources from the Library of Congress.

Comments (4)

  1. Awesome! Leaders Are Readers, Readers Are Leaders.

  2. I believe this is very awesome? I think this award is well planned and thought-out.


    • You can do that using Chronicling America. On the home page you can limit by state so if you put in your subject and limit by state you’ll only see news papers from New York state.

Add a Comment

This blog is governed by the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you post. The content of all comments is released into the public domain unless clearly stated otherwise. The Library of Congress does not control the content posted. Nevertheless, the Library of Congress may monitor any user-generated content as it chooses and reserves the right to remove content for any reason whatever, without consent. Gratuitous links to sites are viewed as spam and may result in removed comments. We further reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to remove a user's privilege to post content on the Library site. Read our Comment and Posting Policy.

Required fields are indicated with an * asterisk.