Top of page

Nominations Now Open for the 2013 NDSA Innovation Awards

Share this post:

The National Digital Stewardship Alliance Innovation Working Group is proud to open the nominations for the 2013 NDSA Innovation Awards. As a diverse membership group with a shared commitment to digital preservation, the NDSA understands the importance of innovation and risk-taking in developing and supporting a broad range of successful digital preservation activities. These awards are an example of the NDSA’s commitment to encourage and recognize innovation in the digital stewardship community.

The 2012 NDSA innovation award winners

This slate of annual awards highlights and commends creative individuals, projects, organizations, and future stewards demonstrating originality and excellence in their contributions to the field of digital preservation. The program is administered by a committee drawn from members of the NDSA Innovation Working Group.

Last year’s winners are exemplars of the creativity, diversity and collaboration essential to supporting the digital community as it works to preserve and make available digital materials. For more information on the details of last year’s recipients take the time to examine our post on the topic. Be sure to check out our interviews with award winners Mat Kelly the creator of WARCreate, Lisa Gregory of the State Library of North Carolina, Bradley Daigle of the AIMS Project, and Anthony Cocciolo of Pratt Institute School of Information and Library Science

These awards will focus on recognizing excellence in one or more of the following areas:

  • Individuals making a significant, innovative contribution to the digital preservation community.
  • Projects whose goals or outcomes represent an inventive, meaningful addition to the understanding or processes required for successful, sustainable digital preservation stewardship.
  • Organizations taking an innovative approach to providing support and guidance to the digital preservation community.
  • Future stewards especially students, but including educators, trainers, or curricular endeavors taking a creative approach to advancing knowledge of digital preservation issues and practices.

Acknowledging that innovative digital preservation stewardship can take many forms, eligibility for these awards has been left purposely broad. Nominations are open to anyone or anything that falls into the above categories and any entity can be nominated for one of the four awards. Simply put, anyone can nominate anyone and anything. This is your chance to help us highlight and reward novel, risk-taking and inventive approaches to the challenges of digital preservation.

Nominations are now being accepted and you can submit a nomination using this quick, easy online submission form. You can also submit a nomination by emailing a brief description, justification, and the URL and/or contact information of your nominee to [email protected].

Nominations will be accepted until May 16, 2013. The prizes will be plaques presented to the winners at the Digital Preservation 2013 meeting taking place at the Library of Congress in Washington, DC, on July 23-25, 2013. Winners will be asked to deliver a brief presentation about their activities as part of the awards ceremony, and travel funds are expected to be available for these invited presenters.

Help us recognize and reward innovation in digital stewardship. Submit a nomination now!

Add a Comment

This blog is governed by the general rules of respectful civil discourse. You are fully responsible for everything that you post. The content of all comments is released into the public domain unless clearly stated otherwise. The Library of Congress does not control the content posted. Nevertheless, the Library of Congress may monitor any user-generated content as it chooses and reserves the right to remove content for any reason whatever, without consent. Gratuitous links to sites are viewed as spam and may result in removed comments. We further reserve the right, in our sole discretion, to remove a user's privilege to post content on the Library site. Read our Comment and Posting Policy.

Required fields are indicated with an * asterisk.